Board of Commissioners


THA'S Board of Commissioners

Washington State law directs that the Tacoma Housing Authority shall be governed by a five person Board of Commissioners that the Mayor of Tacoma shall appoint. The Mayor appoints each Commissioner to a five year term. Since 1998, the law also directs that the Board shall include an individual who receives assistance from THA's federal housing programs. THA has had such a person on its Board since 1990.

Commissioners are volunteers. They do not receive any financial compensation for their time or work. Their work on THA's Board is a notable instance of community service.
Unless otherwise announced, the Board of Commissioners meets in open public session the fourth Wednesday of each month at 4:45 PM. Most of the time, the Board meets in the 2nd Floor conference room at the Housing Authority's administration offices located at 902 S. L Street, Tacoma. About half of the meetings each year, the board meets in the community room of the various THA properties around the city. Please view the Board of Commission meeting schedule page for meeting dates and locations.
Board meetings are open to the public. Most meeting agendas have time set aside for public comments.
For questions regarding board meetings, please contact Sha Peterson at (253) 207-4450.